DAB+ stations in the running for 2019 Radio Awards

19 August 2019

Download as PDF

Coles Radio, Triple M Classic Rock Digital, Kinderling Kids Radio, CW Remix for Chemist Warehouse and Elf Radio have been named as finalists for Best Digital Radio Format in the 31st annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs).

The winner will be announced at the gala event in Brisbane on Saturday, October 19.

Australia’s top radio presenters will compete for the coveted Best On Air Team in both the AM and FM (Metro) categories.

Two-time winners in the FM category Kate, Tim and Marty (Kate Ritchie, Tim Blackwell & Marty Sheargold, NOVA Entertainment 2016, 2017) are amongst the finalists that include six-time winners Kyle Sandilands and Jackie Henderson, (The Kyle and Jackie O Show, KIIS 106.5, Sydney); Jonesy and Amanda (Brendan Jones and Amanda Keller, WSFM, Sydney, winners in 2012 and 2014); Fifi, Fev & Byron (Fifi Box, Brendan Fevola & Byron Cooke, Fox FM, Melbourne); Chrissie, Sam & Browny (Chrissie Swan, Sam Pang, Jonathan Brown & Dean Thomas, NOVA Entertainment, Melbourne) and Kennedy Molloy (Jane Kennedy & Mick Molloy, Triple M Network, SCA).  

The Metropolitan Best On Air Team AM title will be a contest between Ray Hadley’s Continuous Call Team (2GB, Sydney, Macquarie Media Limited, winners for the past two years); Breakfast with David Penberthy & Will Goodings (FIVEaa, Adelaide, NOVA Entertainment); Drive with Mark Allen & David Schwarz (Macquarie Sports Radio, Melbourne, Macquarie Media Limited); Laurel, Gary & Mark; (Laurel Edwards, Gary Clare & Mark Hine, 4KQ, Brisbane, ARN), and 2GB’s first female news/talk duo, Afternoons with Erin Molan & Natalie Peters (Sydney, Macquarie Media).

Entries were received from 260 metropolitan and regional radio stations across Australia. Stations outside the metropolitan areas are well represented at the ACRAs with more than 200 finalists from country and provincial stations.  This year the gala black-tie event will be held at the Royal International Convention Centre Brisbane on Saturday, 19 October and will start at 6.00 pm (red carpet 5.00 pm).   

The chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner, said: “Live radio is one of the most demanding of mediums, so congratulations to all the talented finalists across metropolitan and regional Australia on their outstanding work. The radio awards keep getting bigger and better every year.  We look forward to hosting the 31st annual event in Brisbane.”

Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, the ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards in that they are peer judged by industry members. The ACRAs follow the Radio Alive 2019 conference, which will be held at the Royal International Convention Centre on Friday 18 October.

Twitter: @ComRadioAU   #RadioAlive2019  #ACRAS2019
Facebook: facebook.com/commercialradioaustralia
Instagram: instagram.com/comradioau

Media contact: Judy Shaw – 0418 415 965.