Finalists announced for 2013 Radio Awards

12 August 2013

Download as PDF

The finalists in the 25th annual Australian Commercial Radio Awards (ACRAs) were announced today with popular DAB+ digital only stations up for awards in two categories; Best Digital Radio Format, Long Term and Best Digital Radio Format, Short Term.
In the long term category, Australian Radio Network station Chemist Warehouse Remix is up against, new music station Radar from Southern Cross Austereo and the more recently established relaxing format, Buddha Radio also from Southern Cross Austereo. 
Up for Best Digital Radio Format in the Short Term category is the much loved seasonal festive station, Elf Radio from the Australian Radio Network, ARN’s Adelaide-based Be Active Digital Radio, which was the innovative result of a SA Health initiative,  and DMG’s Brisbane-based State of Origin station, Maroon Radio.
The big names of Australian radio will battle  it out for the coveted Best On- Air Team award.  
Last year’s first time winner of the hotly contested Metropolitan Best On-Air Team FM, Jonesy and Amanda (WSFM, Sydney), are up against two teams that have taken home the award three times;  Kyle and Jackie O (2Day FM) and  The Hamish & Andy Show (Today Network  SCA), also in the contest are last year’s finalists Fitzy & Wippa  (Nova 96.9)  and  first  time finalists in the category Nova drive team,  Meshel*, Tim & Marty (Nova Network,DMG).
The Metropolitan Best On-Air Team AM finalists normally dominated by Sydney and Melbourne teams include Laurel, Gary & Mark ( Laurel Edwards, Gary Clare & Mark Hine)  from Brisbane’s 4KQ ( Australian Radio Network ) up against Sydney’s Big Sports Breakfast (Terry Kennedy & Michael Slater) on Sky Sports Radio (Tabcorp) and last year’s winner; The Continuous Call Team  (Ray Hadley, Bob Fulton, Daryl Brohman & Steve Roach)  2GB - Macquarie Radio Network and previous winner, 3AW Breakfast  (Ross Stevenson & John Burns) 3AW - Fairfax Radio Network .
A record number of nearly 1300 entries was received from 260 metropolitan and regional radio stations across Australia with the winners to be announced at the gala black tie event  to be held for the first time at Brisbane’s Royal International Convention Centre on Saturday, 12 October. 
Metropolitan Best Newcomer On-Air sees Richard Wilkins (smoothfm, DMG) nominated for his first ACRA, up against  ARN star Jane Hall (Mix 101.1 ARN), former Rugby League player Ryan Girdler (Triple M, SCA), plus Sky Sports presenter, Andrew Webster (Tabcorp) and Perth 96FM announcer, Bennie Bishop (Fairfax Radio Network).  
Chief executive officer of Commercial Radio Australia, Joan Warner said the ACRAs are a major highlight of the radio industry calendar.   “Regional, country and metropolitan radio personalities, executives and station staff all come together to celebrate excellence and achievement in the industry,” said Warner.
A highlight on the night of the awards is the announcement of the Hall of Fame inductee, acknowledging a lifelong commitment to and accomplishment in Australian commercial radio. Past Hall of Fame inductees include John Laws, Bob Rogers, Neil Mitchell,  John Brennan, Paul Thompson, Janet Cameron and Graham Mott.
Other celebrated categories include Best Current Affairs Presenter, Best Talk Presenter, Best Music Presenter and  recognising the innovation and development of digital radio in Australia,  Best New Digital Radio Format.
Organised by Commercial Radio Australia, on behalf of the radio industry, the national Awards cover 34 categories, which encompass all areas of commercial radio broadcasting including news, talk, sport, music and entertainment. The ACRAs differ from television’s Logie Awards, in that they are peer judged with judging panels comprised of  industry members. Winners are announced in each category across three areas: metropolitan, provincial and country commercial radio stations. 
Please note: A list of the finalists in the 33  categories is attached.  (Hall of Fame category is announced on the night).  
The list is also on the website:
For all the news follow the hashtag #acras2013 and like us on Facebook. 

Media contact: Melissa Fleming – 0417 499 529 
* Meshel Laurie was a finalist for Best on air Team in 2009 as part of the Nova Brisbane  team, Meshel, Ash, Kip & Luttsy.   
For the Complete Finalist List please click here